skip navigation
skip to Contents

Transit VisaCommon Visa Class II



The ordinary Visa Class II referred in the nr 3, article 35 of the Law 9/2003, 15th October is designed for transit through the national territory en route to another country, or between two international flights in a domestic airport, it allows a single entry and is valid for a maximum of 72 hours. .

Apply in Advance the Visa Authorization Application

From the 1st of May of 2019, in accord to the Minister of Interior Order nº 470, dated on 16/04/2019, based on the nr. 1 and 4 article 38 Law 9/2003, 15th October, all visitors for transit purpose, except the nationals of countries with which Timor-Leste had celebrated visas waiver agreements must apply for a Visa Authorization Application at the Timor-Leste Embassies and Consulates abroad, prior to their visit to Timor-Leste.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please be informed that the Minister of Interior Order nr. 470, of 16th April 2019 has been temporarily suspended until new decision.

Visa On Arrival

Whereas the travelers fulfill all the legal requirements an ordinary Visa Class II for transit purpose, may be granted on arrival at the Border Post by presenting the “Visa Authorization Application”. The transit visa is not extendable and the fee is $20. .


See : the List of Embassies and Consulates where you get the Visa Application Authorization.

Australia – Timor-Leste Consulate in Darwin, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia (Consulate in Denpasar and Kupang), Portugal, Singapore, PR of China and Vietnam.


The forms can be downloaded here Class I + II Application form.

Other Information

According to the article 15 law 9/2003, entry into the national territory shall be denied to foreigners who do not have the means to support theselves for the length of their stay, who do not have a return ticket to a country that guarantees their re-entry or whose status does not allow them to legally provide for themselves.

In order to enter and remain in the national territory, foreigners must have the means to pay per capita an amount equivalent to:

  • $100 (One hundred US dollars) for each entry into the national territory;
  • $50 (Fifty US dollars) for each day expected to remain in the national territory.

In addition travelers must :

  • Hold a passport, or travel document, with an expiry date not less than 6 months from the date of entry into Timor-Leste. The passport must have at least a whole unused page for the visa sticker.y;
  • Pay US$20 visa fee in cash. Note that there may be no ATM or money change facilities at the border post.

Nationality of European Union

Citizens of Union holders of a valid common, diplomatic, official, or special passport issued by their country, may enter and remain without a visa in the territory of East Timor for the purpose of short stay visits for a maximum period of 90 days for each 180-day period, based on the Agreement signed between the Government of Timor-Leste and the European Union on the 26th June 2015:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.

Nationals of Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland are also exempted from short stay visas due to the exchange Note between the Government of Timor-Leste and those countries.

The Agreement does not include Ireland and the United Kingdom therefore citizens of those countries are not exempted from the Visa to enter in Timor-Leste.


Anyone who wish to travel to Timor Leste must bring US Dollar in cash because in all border post in Timor Leste, money changers are not available.

All enquiries should be sent to: Immigration Service contact details